This page was last updated on: March 10, 2017
Click on the picture to view larger images.
End of Heer section.

Mother's Cross- Bronze.
Mother's Cross- Silver.

Das Ehrenkreuz der Deutschen Mutter. The Honor Cross of the German Mother. 3rd Class in bronze to mothers with four to five children; 2nd Class in silver to mothers with six or seven children; the 1st class in gold to mothers with eight or more children.
Mother's Cross
  Mother's Cross- Gold.
     Cased with Mini.

The Iron Cross (abbreviated EK) was awarded to all ranks of the Wehrmacht, Luftwaffe and Kriegsmarine to recognize officers and men for acts of bravery, heroism and leadership. The Iron Cross comes in two grades, Second Class and First Class. The Iron Cross First Class could only be awarded to one who had previously received the Iron Cross Second Class. Hence, the First Class was more restricted and more highly prized. Both the medals looked very similar and were worn on the same position on the lower left side of the uniform. When the Iron Cross First Class was awarded, the Iron Cross Second Class was signified with a small ribbon attached to a button.